Seven periods of Christian history
The first three chapters of the book of Revelation prophetically show the whole history of Christianity from its inception to the time of the taking of the Church of Christ from the earth, and beginning with Chapter 4 describe the events that must occur after the Church of Christ will be taken from the earth. Therefore, we will focus our attention on the first three chapters of the book of Revelation and briefly look at the entire history of Christianity.
Christ speaks to John of the seven churches: Ephesus, Smyrna, Pergamon, Thyatira, Sardis, Philadelphia, and Laodicea. Yes, such churches, that is, such Christian communities, really existed in the time of the Apostle John. Christ gives in John’s vision a vivid characterization of these churches. But we shall fall into error if we think that we are speaking only of these seven churches mentioned by Christ. It is not only a description of the actual situation in these seven churches, but also a prophecy for the times to come. Christ chose precisely seven churches, in order to use the characteristics of each of them, to draw a prophetic picture of the entire history of Christianity.
The seven churches are the seven periods in the history of Christianity from the beginning of the Church of Christ to its taking from the earth. To each of these seven churches Christ commanded John to write a message, each of which has a prophetic meaning relating to one of the seven periods of Christianity. In the brief seven Epistles is the whole history of Christianity. Of course, the features which Christ characterized, for example, the Church of Ephesus, can be applied to all times of Christianity, but they are most characteristic of the first period. Let’s make a brief review of the seven Epistles, get acquainted with the seven periods of the history of Christianity.